Birthday Party 2013

6 Nov

It’s that time of the year again!

Happy 5th Birthday, Mia!  You are ever so sweet, spicy, and funny, and give me a dose of each, every day.  You give me unlimited kisses and hugs and ” I love you, mama”, which snaps me out of the daily routine stress.   You are totally adorable, and it puts a smile on my face every time.  You are very timid among a group, or among strangers, but when you are in your comfort zone, you are a chatterbox, and can be very loud!  Noa says you are the funniest girl he knows!  You are like that Katy Perry song, hot and cold, up and down, happy and sad, you love me one moment, and you hate me the other.  You can be a real emotional roller coaster.  I enjoy you every moment.  You are with me 24/7, you sleep with me, and you wake up with me.  Sometimes, I wish you were a little more independent, but it will come a day, when I will wish that you would spend more time with me, so I will cherish this precious moment.

Happy 8th Birthday, Noa!  You are growing up so fast, right in front of my eyes!  You have started to eat more, and more variations, which I am pleased to see.  I love that you are witty, and creative. You have grown to love LEGO’s, and I love to watch you follow the instructions and create amazing pieces (many of which are for much older kids!)  It makes me so happy to see you creative!  You really surprise me when you talk about your interests, that you know so much.  These moments makes me realize that you are really listening, and that you are learning every day.  I am very proud of you, that you are doing great in school.  I am so happy to see you having such a great time with your friends, and that you have great friends.  You are a hero to your sister, and she can’t wait for you to come home from school every day.  You can act like a big kid, but I know, when I snuggle you in bed, that you are still my little baby boy!

If you kids only knew how much I love you both!!!

1380514_10153389544000054_1705717284_n DSC_3243

So…..This year, I went all out for our kids’ birthdays.

Mia’s birthday was in mid September.  We took a trip to Disney to celebrate with Nana (grandma), auntie, and baby cousin.  We had a great time, but Mia kept complaining that she didn’t have a cake… (it’s true, we never got around to cutting a cake.)  It gets complicated when we are traveling.  Anyways, she kept saying that she never got to celebrate and sing Happy Birthday with friends…

Then, October came.  End of October is Noa’s birthday.  We already have annual passes to Disney, so we booked a hotel to go back to Disney.  Then ofcourse, he wants to celebrate with friends as well.

So, I have decided to do a small, headache-free, birthday party for both the kids (at the pool.)

I was supposed to keep it “simple”… pizza, chips…my husband was very adamant about that.  However… here’s how it rolled out…

Note, Mia wants a princess theme.  Noa wants a Minecraft theme.

1. One week prior to the party, I made invitations.  My plan was to invite just the close friends, whom I can text invitations to, however, Noa wanted to invite few new friends from class, so I made these for him to hand out:

IMG_8893

2. Prepare goodie bags.

Noa, Mia and I all worked on the creeper face, so each bag had a different face...

Noa, Mia and I all worked on the creeper face, so each bag had a different face…

IMG_7902

Some of the goodies I put in the bags.

3. Two days prior to the party, I baked the base cakes. Two square, two heart cakes.  (The cakes deserve its own post, so please check them out :))

4. One day prior to the party, I decorated the cake.  By this time, I realize I have overwhelmed myself again, with the many tasks that lay ahead.  Maybe I should just do store bought cake and food… No, No, I want to make it “special.”

IMG_7947 IMG_7941

5. Party Time!  I woke up early to first prepare breakfast, then picked up the breakfast mess.  Then I washed all the veggies and fruits for my platters.  I made a fruit platter, veggie platter, big salad, my pepper salad, couple of bowls of chips, and ham and cheese platters.  Then, I made pasta and Bolognese sauce, and also hotdogs.  I got my self ready, and also my kids ready.  All in time for a 1pm party!

IMG_7207 IMG_7913

The party was a success, if I do say so myself.  Mostly everyone showed up.  There were many kids going crazy around the pool, and they all had a blast.  The adults had fun, too. We had great food and great company, what more can  I ask for?!  We took the party to a billiard room after dark, and partied some more until we called it a night!

Noa’s actual birthday was on a Tuesday, and I cooked a big dinner.  Nana came to celebrate with us!  Nana took the kids to the mall (to spoil them with more gifts.)  While they were out, I made Asian flavor roasted chicken, my pepper salad, roasted asparagus, kale chips, and pumpkin pie.

IMG_8100 IMG_8102

At the end of the week, we went to Disney.  We managed to go around all 4 Disney parks (including Food and Wine Festival at Epcot.)  They call it the “happiest place on Earth,” but going to Disney with kids is not all happy and dandy (that’s a whole different subject!) but we had a great time!

Anyways, then comes Halloween…

I baked pumpkin cake for Halloween!

I baked pumpkin cake for Halloween!

IMG_8739 IMG_8766

I am drained, but feel like I conquered these events this year, and very happy about it!

So, Kids, (even though I know you guys sort of take it for granted,) I hope you appreciate all that mommy and daddy do for you…

Leave a Reply

