Noa’s First Grade 2012 – 2013

13 Aug

June 6, 2013 marked the last day of first grade for my son.

Congratulations!  Hooray! to my boy… and for me.

Phew, I’m so glad it’s over…  Weights lifted off my shoulders and I feel so relieved!

My son had a good year, academically.  He had a couple of “B”s the first two quarters, and the last two quarters were straight “A”s.  His conduct are always “A.”  He received 2 Honor Rolls, and a “Principal’s Honor Roll,” and received a “Citizenship Award” at the graduation ceremony.  Needless to say, I’m very proud of him and his achievements.  (…Ok, enough bragging.)

However, I feel dissatisfied.

The homework was torturous.  My daily stress level increased significantly due to “Homework time.”  My son was uninterested, and unwilling.  It took hours, and alot of patience and begging.  I guess there’s too much distraction at home, all the temptations of toys and games…his little sister likes to bother him as well.  I tried all kinds of tactics, and by the last semester, I started taking him to the confinement of a meeting room in our building to complete the task of “homework.”  (it was effective.)  I admit I like to micro-manage all the work he submits.  And I know for a fact that there are many parents that just “let it be” to the child to finish, or not finish homework.  One of the problem I have is that my son knows that the teacher is not checking the homework.  That makes him think it is not that important that he does everything, or completely.  And that really bothers me.  I know for a fact that the teacher doesn’t check the spelling word activities he was assigned to do every day.  This spelling word lessons contribute directly to the performance of the Friday spelling test, which is a major part of their grade, so I think it is very important that he does this with dedication, but it was a task he had least interest in finishing.  I really wish the teacher had encouraged, or reminded how important it is to do the homework, then maybe, my life would have been less stressful.

This year, I felt really disconnected with what was going on in the classroom and the teacher.  Especially compared to last year, which was a great kindergarten year, with a great, involved teacher.  (you can read about it on my other post.)  I understand that each teacher and each grade is different, but I can’t help but to compare the experiences.  It’s too much a difference.

I am a mom that wants to be involved with the teacher and the class.  I always offer to volunteer and often email the teacher to offer help.  I know my boundaries, and I didn’t want to be “that annoying parent,” so I backed off as much as possible.  But really, I was disappointed by the lack of interaction by the teacher.  Last year, I knew all the students in class, and their parents, this year, just a couple of them.  At least for the graduation, I expect a little card to her students?  No.  Nothing.  I put together a little goody bag for everyone in class, and a little gift to the teacher.  I made sure my son wrote a card for her, thanking her for being his first grade teacher.  I wonder what kind of good bye gesture was done in the class at their final dismissal?

Ahhhh…. it’s over now.

At the end, I asked my son how his first grade experience was, and he tells me he had a great year, so I’m taking his word for it, that’s all that matters anyway.

Leave a Reply

