Flower Field Cupcakes – Fondant Toppers

18 Jun

My Easter treat this year…  Pretty Flower Field cupcakes!

DSC_0889

First, I made “strawberry cupcakes” (please refer to the “strawberry cupcakes” post)  It’s delicious, as is, but I wanted to make something special for Easter.  I had some fondant leftovers, so I decided to go that route.  However, I didn’t want to use icing this time, so I came up with an idea!

Here’s how I made the fondant flower toppers:

I used what I had in hand.  Some leftover pre-colored fondant and white rolled fondant, both from Wilton.

I knead the fondant so it’s nice and soft.

I then rolled out the fondant, and stamped out shapes using a fondant cutter.  I used flower cutters and also a fondant mold for little birds and hearts for the “Spring” theme.

Stamping out flower shapes

Stamping out flower shapes

 

 

 

 

My little helper

My little helper

 

Used food coloring to make other colors

Used food coloring to make other colors

For the daisy flowers, I attached two, back to back, sandwiching a toothpick.  I used a little brush to wet the surface with water for attachment.

Brush on a little water for attaching

Brush on a little water for attaching

sandwich a toothpick

sandwich a toothpick

 

Pearls added to center of flowers

Pearls added to center of flowers

I also made leaves with my fingers and pierced through with the daisy flower toothpick.

leaves

leaves

 

Leaves attached

Leaves attached

I molded the little birds and hearts thick enough so that I don’t have to go through the process of attaching two pieces.

Add them onto the cupcakes, and voila!  Spring flower field!

IMG_2969

 

DSC_0932

 

DSC_0912  DSC_0900

I love love love the way it came out!

Honestly, I don’t eat fondant.  I really don’t want my kids to eat it either.  That is why I made the toppers this way, so that I can remove it easily.  (although that doesn’t keep my daughter from eating it.  she ate hers and mine…and all the others!)  This is such an awesome way to decorate.  I love the way it looks, and I love fondant because it is so easy to create anything you want.  I know I will be making this again!

Leave a Reply

