Strawberry Cupcakes

4 Apr

I’m in the mood for some yummy cupcakes!

My daughter loves “Pinkalicious” book, and I wanted to make her pink cupcakes.  But I really want to avoid artificial coloring, and I had a great idea!  I’m going to incorporate freeze dried strawberries to see if it will work in place of the food coloring.  I like the “butter cupcakes” recipe on Wilton.com, but I always alter it a little, and that is just what I did.

Recipe:

  • 1 1/2 cups room temperature butter
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup (or little more) freeze dried strawberry (ground)
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup milk

How to:

1. Preheat oven to 350 (F)

2. Line the cupcake pans with baking cups.

3. Mix the room temperature butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

Room temp. butter and sugar

Room temp. butter and sugar

 

My little helper on mixer duty

My little helper on mixer duty

4. Add eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition.

5. Mix in pure vanilla extract.

Pure vanilla extract - in!

Pure vanilla extract – in!

6. Mix the remaining dry ingredients in a different bowl (flour, baking powder, and salt.)

7. Mix the flour mixture into the butter mixture little at a time.  Also add milk alternately with the dry mix.

Dry ingredient mix - in!

Dry ingredient mix – in!

8. Mix ground freeze dried strawberry into the mix.

Freeze dried strawberry from Archer Farms (Target)

Freeze dried strawberry from Archer Farms (Target)

 

I used a plastic bag and my hands to grind the strawberries.

I used a plastic bag and my hands to grind the strawberries.

 

Ground strawberries - in!

Ground strawberries – in!

9. Pour the batter into baking cups.  I usually make mini cupcakes, because I think they are just the perfect bite size.

Batter in cupcake liners.

Batter in cupcake liners.

10. Bake 20 – 25 min.  Make sure the toothpick comes out clean when inserted in the center of the cupcake.

Anxiously waiting...

Anxiously waiting…

11. Cool and enjoy!  I like to have this cupcake when it is still warm.  The strawberry aroma is so yummy when warm!

Baked!

Baked!

 

Warm and Yummy!

Warm and Yummy!

They didn’t look “pink” as I had hoped, but it was delicious, and my kids loved them.  (My neighbors did too!)  I love the idea of incorporating fruits, and I’m definitely going to try out other fruits next time.

Leave a Reply

