Hello Kitty Royal Icing Cookies for Mia’s 4th!

27 Mar

I love baking cookies.  I usually bake simple ones, which are my favorites.  I never use icing, because I don’t like the extra sugar.  However, for my baby girl’s birthday, I am attempting for the first time, a royal icing decorated cookies.  I’ve seen so many pretty ones online, and I wanted to give it a try.

Here’s how it went…

1. Bake the cookies.  I used a “sugar cookie” recipe I found on Wilton.com.  It says it does not need to be refrigerated, but I put my dough to chill because it was way too soft for the cut out.  I used my Hello Kitty cookie cutters for the shapes.  The cookie cutter has details that may require a few tries.  (I had to redo several times.) Bake according to the direction.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Butter and Sugar mixture

Butter and Sugar mixture

Add Eggs one at a time

Add Eggs one at a time

Add Pure Vanilla extract

Add Pure Vanilla extract

Add Flour

Add Flour

Roll out the dough

Roll out the dough

Baked cookies

Baked cookies !

2. Prepare the royal icing.  I used the recipe on Wilton.com for a simple royal icing recipe.   http://www.wilton.com/recipe/Royal-Icing

IMG_7939

Icing Mixture

Icing Mixture

3. Time to decorate!  I put aside appropriate amounts of icing in several different bowls, so I can prepare different color icing.  I left majority of the icing for the face (white,) then prepared black, red, and yellow  (yellow being the smallest amount needed for the Hello Kitty’s nose.)  ALWAYS keep the icing covered!  Once it has a hardened surface, it is not usable.

White Icing done!

White Icing done!

Yellow icing

Yellow icing

4. Do the face.  I used the #3 tip.  I attempted the piping around for the outline, and then fill in with more diluted icing to cover the inside, but  that didn’t come out the way I wanted.  It came out just as nice without the outline, so that’s how I finished the rest.  The diluted icing was much more easy to work with.  Let it dry.

White icing phase

White icing phase

5. Do the nose.  I always work on lighter colors first.

6. Do the Bow.  I used the red color for that.

Almost there!

Almost there!

7. Do the eyes and whiskers.  I used the black for that.

IMG_7991IMG_7995

8. The colors dry up darker than what the icing looks in liquid form.  I don’t know why the “white” turned a little yellowish.  I will have to do some research on that next time.  Overall, I really enjoyed the whole process, and although it’s not perfect, I am really happy how it turned out.  The Birthday girl was thrilled about it, so I’m good.

The white icing turned yellowish in some parts...

The white icing turned yellowish in some parts…

Ready for the party!
Ready for the party!

Ta Da!
Ta Da!

Happy Birthday Girl!
Happy Birthday Girl!

Yum!
Yum!

All that effort...
All that effort…

Leave a Reply

