Fight, tomorrow, at recess!

2 Oct

Here’s the conversation I had with my 1st grader son, on our way home from school yesterday.

“there’s going to be a fight tomorrow.”

“what??? where?”

“when we go to the park”

“what???  Who?  Who’s going to fight?”

“J and M.”

“Why?”

“because…they said they will”

“What?  Do not get involved, okay?  You need to stop it.  Do I need to tell the teacher about this?  Should I call J’s mom?”

“no.  I’m not fighting.  but if J needs help, I’m going to kick M’s butt, because I’m his friend.  That’s what friends do.  They have their back.”

“No, I don’t want you to get involved at all.  Really, I think I should email Ms.X”

“No!  Don’t do that please.”

“But why are they fighting?”

“whoever wins, gets to be friends with Mia.”

Then, my daughter, whose name is Mia, says “No, I don’t want to be friends with J or M”

“No, it’s not you.  It’s Mia that sits in our table.”

Our Mia insists it’s her, saying “No, I don’t like J or M.”

“No, it’s another Mia, Mia.”

“So does J and M both like Mia?  Is she pretty?  How about you? Do you like her?” I asked.

“they both want to be friends with her, but only the winner gets her.”

“Oh.”  I’m kind of worried, and smiling at the same time.

“it’s going to be a good fight.”  my son says excitedly.

“Well, if it gets serious, or if anyone is hurt, you need to tell the teacher right away, okay?”

I left it at that, but was contemplating the rest of the day, whether I should contact the teacher or J’s mom about this.

But my hubby told me, that’s what boys do, and not to intervene.  It’s boys’ stuff.  I guess it’s kind of a “rite of passage” so I let it go.

Today I picked him up from school, and I asked him, “So, what happened today?  Was there a fight?”

“No”

“What happened?”

“I don’t know, they forgot about it.”

“oh good!  that’s good…”

I’m so glad the “fight” did not occur.

Really, these are 6 year old boys…  fight over a girl?!  what do I have to look forward to?!

 

Leave a Reply

